Ode to Panza

I know, I know, I’m slacking. I apologize, but as you can imagine, im pretty busy.

I don’t have too much to update you on but let’s see what I can dig up. Things have been great. It is really hard to believe that I have been here for 7 weeks. Yes, I’m getting used to it. yes, my Spanish is improving (I hope,) yes it will be weird to return to the States blah blah blah. Classes have been going well (or as well as they can be.) Not much to say there, poetry is poetry, Tango is picking up, getting tricky, and hard to keep up with, Argentine Cinema (sounds cool, right?) SUCKS beyond all belief, and environment is, well…complicated.

I’ll skip the week and get to the weekend because that’s really what you want to hear, isn’t it? For some strange reason I have no recollection of what I did on Thursday night. No, I did not get really drunk, I just can’t seem to remember anything past a couple days. Strange, right? Friday was great though. On Friday night, I went out to meet up with a friend of a friend of my brother’s who lives in Buenos Aires. I got to hang out with her and her friends, drink a few beers and practice the hell out of my crappy Spanish, but it was quite enjoyable. On Saturday morning, I woke up early and met at IES for our day-trip to Lobos (Yes, traveling again.) It was a very relaxing day of riding horses, listening to music, eating delicious food, and laying in the grass. Oh yeah, it also included a tour of a castle (yes, a castle) and a polo match (yes, a polo match.) After the trip, I showered and met some friends for sushi. Castles, polo matches, sushi, and wine, I live a very difficult life in South America.

Saturday night could not have been more interesting. After meting up with some friends (stop asking for shout-outs, you know who you are,) we went to a bar that Tal recommended. Apparently, someone was having a big birthday and threw one of the most dynamic costume parties I have ever seen. This party had everything from cat woman, the riddler, and captain America to a mermaid, pirates, and a geisha. Not to mentioned the black-faced Bob Marley. We ordered drinks as we were entertained by three things: 1. the fact that Argentines can have an incredible costume party, 2. the Rocky III big boxing match scene on the projector that was playing simultaneously with “Like a Virgin,” and 3. the fact that our drinks had real passionfruit seeds in them. After a few shots and a bit of dancing my caught caught the most unexpected sight. Some porteño was wearing a Daniel Johnston “Hi how are you?” frog shirt. I immediately asked him where he got it and if he knew what it was. He got in Argentina (WHAT?!) and had no clue what it was. We left the bar as got (debatably delicious) milkshakes loaded with dulce de leche and headed home.

Sunday, after going to eat (real) Chinese food in Belgrano’s Chinatown, I went on my mission to find the perfect mate (gourd.) I didn’t find it. I did, however, sit with Yael and Nina, eating delicious pastries, drinking mate, and talking for a good couple hours. As I was returning to my home, it started pouring and hailing. The rest of the night was calm and relaxing which will hopefully set the tone for this week. After all, I do have mid-terms next week.

Giselle (sometimes referred to as Griszesjsejs) is coming to Buenos Aires this week from Brazil to visit me (woo!) Chances are I’ll have more to tell on my next post.

Luego.

Published in: on April 19, 2010 at 9:32 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://aviazouz.wordpress.com/2010/04/19/ode-to-panza/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a comment